Queen Margaret College is now in its sixth year of delivering the International Baccalaureate Diploma and as per previous years, the 2016 cohort achieved a 100% pass rate after sitting the examinations in November.

Two students, Shweta Iyer and Charlotte Hollywood, scored 40 points or above and they were recognised for their success at the Top Scholars’ Awards Ceremony by Governor General Patsy Reddy in February. The world mean is 30 out of 45.


The Prime Minister's Education Excellence Awards recognise and celebrate outstanding achievements in early childhood education, primary and secondary schooling.  

There are four awards categories that schools can enter:

Excellence in Engaging – Atahāpara Award
Excellence in Leading – Atakura Award
Excellence in Teaching and Learning – Atatū Award
Excellence in Governing – Awatea Award


Christchurch, 16 February 2017 - Students from St Margaret’s College, Christchurch, achieved a 100% pass rate in 2016 NCEA Level 1 with similar success echoed in Level 2 and Level 3 with 98.9% and 96.6% pass rates respectively. Year 13 students also earned a 95.5% pass rate at UE. This success rate is up to 34.2% higher than the national average and up to 20% higher than the Decile 8-10 school average.


A significant increase in the number of students achieving excellence in all NCEA levels is one of the new statistics making Rangi Ruru Girls’ School in Christchurch a standout in decile 8-10 schools across New Zealand.

Excellence endorsements by comparison to national decile 8-10 levels show Rangi Ruru students achieving at more than twice the national result, across all three levels of NCEA in 2016.



The Heads of Independent Schools Scholarship Trust (HISST) was established in July 1994 for the purpose of providing financial assistance to promote education, learning and research on matters affecting independent schools in New Zealand.  An initial sum of money was donated from the Association of Heads of Independent Schools of New Zealand (AHIS) to establish the fund and grants are made from the interest earned on it.  The Trustees are Gail Thomson and Heather McRae.